Change of plans

As a newlywed, I often get asked if anything changed once we got married; our typical response is that nothing changed.  But now I’m admitting that being married and in our 30s means we have to consider really settling down and the whole procreating thing; quite honestly, that scares the crap out of me.  Now is the time to push to make some personal and professional goals happen; my hubby is working hard at some professional goals that seem more important now that we are married.  What on earth does that have to do with running? It means that our plans for going for 48 hours at Across the Years are looking impossible; we planned on running it together but have been working too much and devoting so much spare time to pursuing professional goals that running has been on the back burner.  Story of this year….

As of last night, we are 90% certain we will scrap ATY because it’s doubtful he could be ready and my school and work schedules might mean severe deviations from the training plan I devised (yes, I finally did a training plan for a race…and just spent several minutes deleting most of it).  I still plan on getting back in ultra running shape but will try to be patient in getting there, instead of ramping up quickly and seeing how my body responds.  I no longer have a deadline of next summer for checking off some ultra bucket list items as I am getting the itch to make some major life changes.

2 responses to “Change of plans

  1. Before I had children (3 boys), I was scared to death of the birthing part. Ends up that's not what I REALLY needed to be scared about — it's the raising part. I also thought that I would run through the pregnancy of my 3rd child. Didn't happen. My equilibrium was off and I kept tripping. So I stopped. Wishing you the best with whatever you decide. It's so cool that your hubby runs too. : )

  2. I love your persistence with your fitness efforts. As for a family… “settling down” is so not an appropriate term… it's as exhausting as event training. I didn't have the option to give birth to my own. I've been recently blessed with a son via adoption though. LOVE HIM! Now we going running together, thanks to my trusty jogger stroller. There's no settling here in my mid-30's. It's all about pacing. Keep a good pace and everything else falls into place.

Leave a comment