Easter at Pace Bend Park

I hope you had a fabulous Happy Easter!  Since our church had service on Friday, we attended that evening and that meant I could get out for a run early on Sunday (ie. no excuses!).  For me, trail running is a way to connect with God and it gives me time to clear my head and be grateful for being able to run.

Continuing my exploration of the Austin area trails, I went to Pace Bend Park in Spicewood, TX.  Thankfully I had read others’ comments that the trails were not well marked and that getting turned around was easy.  I did not even spot the trailhead while looking for a place to park!  That combined with wondering if I was going to be ticketed since I did not have a parking decal (no one at park entrance when I arrived) made me feel very “off” starting my run.  
I had printed a trail map at home and it immediately seemed off when the “bulk water station” location did not match the map.  When I started running trails, I learned that trail running requires being adventurous and in this park,  I knew that even if I got lost, I would not be far from a park road. 
I parked at a camping area near one of the coves off Lake Travis and soaked in the sights — just what I needed this Easter.  I ran down the road towards the park entrance for about a mile before finally finding a trail entrance.   Along the way, I battled myself over how far I would run.  Mentally, I was not convinced I could run 15 miles– the distance I needed prior to next week’s 30K.  I’ve struggled with getting the confidence to run longer distances this year.
Once I hit the trails, I still doubted myself but basked in the joy of being on trails.  There were times when I was unsure if I was going the correct direction and I pulled out my phone to take pictures with hand signals to help me find my way back; based on the maps, an out and back was the only way I could get in my mileage.  
Gorgeous view of Lake Travis
I decided to run out 4-5 miles and turn around since I doubted my legs could do 15 on the rocky terrain; I was super cautious on the rocks and tree roots and I remembered that training on rocky terrain makes it easier! 
Beautiful windy trails through the woods
I turned around close to being 5 miles out and thankfully the return trip was not confusing to me.  I made it back to my car and decided to go back out for a couple of miles and call it at 12 miles.  I convinced myself that I could not do 15 miles since my legs felt like they were dragging.
I ran out the same path along the road and spotted a trailhead that I somehow missed previously.  I decided to run it out and turn around after about a mile….somehow I got turned around at one of the junctions, ran the wrong way (recognized it from the out/back from the other trailhead) and then just decided to go back the way from my prior out and back. I heard cars on the park road and knew I was not truly lost— thankfully! Since I was at 14.60 when I got back to my car, I ran past it on the road and back to make it 15 miles.  I guess my body decided that it could do the mileage and got lost to force me to do it!
Negative split run!
I made it!  
The only negatives about the park are that the trails are not well marked and they are relatively flat; the trail markers have numbers on them and the map online names the trails and does not give numbers (odd!!!).  I hoped for some hills during the run but it was barely any up/down.  Overall, I loved the park and the seclusion of the trails and see running them frequently since they are nearby.
One response to “Easter at Pace Bend Park

  1. No hills? There's nothing but hills here. 🙂 Glad you had a nice Easter run.

Leave a Reply

