Exercising while traveling

Last year I traveled frequently with frequent work trips and personal trips to visit family.  This year, I am revisiting how exercise fits in with travel.

I typically run while traveling but I often skip yoga or other cross training.  Sticking to a plan is hard and I have never accomplished that– even when I thought I would.  One goal for this year is to include cross training when I travel for multiple days.

When I visit my family, I often run but cut back the mileage to spend more time with them or catch up on sleep!   When I was training for big races, I was better about sticking to a plan.  Now that I am not “racing,” I play it by ear.

During my last vacation, I was torn between working out and skipping my workouts.  By the end of the vacation, I enjoyed my time on the treadmill; I keep safety in mind when traveling and a treadmill was the safest and easiest way for me to get in my runs.  Since I overindulged in food and drinks, the runs made me feel less bloated.  I took advantage of the huge deck for getting in 10 minute power yoga sessions; I also took advantage of the daily free yoga classes.

When traveling for work, I hit the treadmill or do a HIT workout or similar in the hotel room.  It is hard to wake up at 5am to work out, especially if I travel to different time zones, but I feel much more relaxed and productive.

Questions:
Do you skip working out while traveling or on vacation?  Do you stick to your normal routine?  Or do you work out if it fits in your schedule?

Leave a Reply

