Memorial Day weekend – eating, boating, reading

Howdy!  This long weekend we made the best of the closing date on our house being pushed back and spending more time at the lakefront rental.  Since I’m not running much and doing fewer intense HIT, lower body workouts, I am very antsy.  The goal for the weekend was to spend time exploring the area—enjoying freedoms we have thanks to those who serve and served our country.  It turned into a food and wine , boating and lots of reading kind of weekend– something much needed!

Friday night we decided to check out Briarcliff Bistro and Bacon Bar.  I knew my food options would be super limited but knew my hubby wanted to check it out…their menu is definitely not my cup of tea and, when we decided to stay for a drink to listen to the local band perform, I settled on a piece of chocolate cake for dinner.  Who can say no to chocolate?!  The band featured a local high school kid and he is definitely talented; check out the Innate Space Youtube channel for a glimpse at this local talent.

IMG_2481

Chocolate cake — good but not best dinner choice

Saturday I ventured out for a run and 40 minutes with a couple of steep hill climbs felt good but I am still feeling a constant aching in my glute and hip flexor. 😦  Post-run was the perfect time for a brunch indulgence.  For the past few weeks, I craved a pancake (yes, 1…the size of a plate!) from Pacha Cafe, my favorite restaurant in Austin.  Their food is sourced locally and is almost 100% organic — a rare find!  The 60 minute roundtrip drive and 30 minute wait for food was well worth it.

IMG_2485

To die for pancake with scrambled eggs and my hubby’s potato hash

Saturday night we planned on checking out another local place for music but that changed when the owner of our rental knocked on our door and invited us out on his boat.  When invited boating, the answer is always yes!  My only regret was that we did not take our phones or camera–even the walk down the stairs to the boat slip was stunning.  The rain clouds had cleared out making it a gorgeous early evening and he gave us a tour of the area.  I learned a lot about the area and soaked in the sights of the cliffs and gaped at ginormous mansions dotting the cliffs.

Sunday we attended church and went grocery shopping.  I wanted to visit a local winery, Stone House Vineyard, that our host pointed out the night prior since it was only a 15 minute drive.  It’s rare for Austin to have temps only in the 80s in May and it was a perfect time to see more of the area.  After splitting a wine tasting, we got a glass of wine and sat outside enjoying the spectacular views of the water.

Sunday evening we went out for dinner; I wanted something healthy and enjoyed a huge salad at The Grove Wine Bar.  It was a beautiful evening and we sat on the patio and soaked in the view that has yet to get old.

IMG_2495

My spinach quinoa salad and hubby’s Asian chicken salad- yummy!

Memorial Day my hubby was in charge of dinner.  We cooked a healthy grilled dinner (well, healthy except for indulging in portion sizes) of wild caught salmon, apple chicken sausage, zucchini, onion, eggplant.  I love finding locally grown organic veggies this time of year at Whole Foods since making it to the farmer’s market does not happen often.  I picked up a bottle of organic white wine sangria and it was the perfect compliment to the meal.

IMG_2497

When not exploring the area and eating, I read.  It’s a blessing and a curse that I read novels fast.  I am old-school and prefer the feel of an actual book in my hands as opposed to e-books but we have no space to collect more books.  Luckily, I love the Kindle app so that I can read download free books and check out new authors.  This weekend, I downloaded lots of free ones on Amazon and one free one sucked me into the Dare River series by Ava Miles.  I read three in that series this weekend and look forward to reading more by her since they are easy, summery reads.

I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

