Tejas Trails Paleface 5K Race Report

Howdy everyone!  The 2016 Paleface 2 5K was the second Tejas Trails race I’ve run since moving here.  My last one was super well-organized, so I could not resist signing up for their race at Pace Bend Park and inviting my husband to join me.  I really wanted to run farther than 5K but I’m still limiting my running due to trying to get pregnant and my husband was not up for more than 5K.

The race venue was less than 5 miles from home (super convenient!) and I picked up our bibs and race shirts (very nice dry fit tanks) the night before.  I chatted with the RD and resisted the temptation to switch to the half marathon.

I ran part of the trails at the park earlier in the year and vaguely recalled typical Austin-area trails: rocky, some roots, and flat.  I’m very cautious on rocky terrain, so my plan was to go out and run easy.  I ran 6 miles the day before the race and, since that’s my average longer run nowadays, I thought my legs would take some time to warm up.

img_2950

Pre-race picture w/gorgeous scenery- this place never gets old!

The field was small and I lined up near the front and parted ways with my hubby right before the RD told us to go.  I love low-key trail races — no big fuss, just 3-2-1-go!  The first mile was rocky and I ran carefully and happily let people pass me.

With less than a mile to go, I gained on a father and kid as they passed who I thought could be the female leader.  Still being cautious on the rocky course, I followed suit and passed her.  As I crossed the finish line, I found out I was the female winner — gotta love a small race!

img_2956

Really nice medal & cool trophy

I picked out my “trophy” and waited for Alan to cross the finish line; I was very proud of how he did since he has not run trails in ages.  It was a great start to the morning and weekend!  As always, Tejas Trails put on a well-organized race with a cool race vibe.  I look forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

